Cruelty Free Down - Race to the Top

Geese and ducks raised for meat can be subject to the cruel practices of live-plucking and force-feeding for fatty liver (foie gras). Feathers and down are commonly used in outdoor wear, sleeping bags and homeware such as duvets. Brands that use down from geese and ducks in their products are starting to take responsibility for the welfare of animals in their supply chain.

You can track the actions that each brand is taking and help make sure geese and ducks are not live-plucked or force-fed through the FOUR PAWS ‘Cruelty Free Down Challenge’. To date, most brands that use down depend only on certificates and audit reports from their suppliers to state that animals they source from had a life free of live-plucking, force-feeding or other cruelties. Experience has shown that these assurances do not provide sufficient guarantees that animals have a cruelty free life.

When taking part in the Challenge, brands are digging deeper for the truth behind how the geese and ducks they source down from are living so that they can be certain that live-plucking and force-feeding as well as other forms of suffering are avoided.

Cruelty Free News

frr news

Cruelty Free and Fur Free

Deuter, Jack Wolfskin, Schöffel and Vaude recently joined the Fur Free Retailer Programme… more

Logo Challenge

FOUR PAWS launches Cruelty Free Down Challenge

Brands are beginning to implement stricter measures to exclude animal welfare problems in their entire down supply chain... more

patagonia news

Patagonia use only 100% traceable down

As of fall 2014, Patagonia announces, 100% of its down products are from traceable down... more

NorthFace news

The North Face' Responsible Down Standard

The Textile Exchange’s Responsible Down Standard (RDS) which was initiated by The North Face together with Textile Exchange and Control Union...more

Tierleidfreier Daunen-Wettlauf zum Gipfel

Gänse und Enten werden häufig der grausamen Praktik des Lebendrupfs und des Stopfens für die Erzeugung von Fettleber (Foie gras) unterzogen. Die Daunen und Federn dieser Tiere landen in Jacken, Schlafsäcken und Bettwäsche. Marken, die Daunen von Gänsen und Enten für ihre Produkte verwenden, beginnen nun Verantwortung für das Wohl der Tiere in ihrer Zulieferkette zu übernehmen.

Die von VIER PFOTEN initiierte „Cruelty Free Down Challenge“ zeigt Outdoor-Marken, die die Herkunft ihrer Daunen nachverfolgen möchten, um sicherzustellen, dass die von ihnen verarbeiteten Daunen aus tierleidfreien Betrieben stammen. Marken waren bisher von Zertifikaten und Überprüfungen ihrer Zulieferer abhängig. Erfahrungen zeigen aber, dass dies keine ausreichende Garantie darüber ist, ob Tiere tatsächlich ein tierleidfreies Leben hatten.

Marken, die an der Challenge teilnehmen, werden nun prüfen, ob die von ihnen verwendeten Daunen aus einem verantwortungsvollen Betrieb ohne Lebendrupf und Stopfmast stammen. Damit können Marken sicherstellen, dass Lebendrupf und Stopfmast verhindert werden.

Cruelty Free News

frr news

Cruelty Free und gegen Pelz

Deuter, Jack Wolfskin, Schöffel und Vaude haben sich dem Fur Free Retailer Programme angeschlossen…mehr

patagonia news

Patagonia setzt auf Traceable Down

Mit Herbst 2014, so kündigt Patagonia an, werden 100% der Daunenprodukte von rückverfolgbaren Daunen stammen...mehr

Logo Challenge

VIER PFOTEN startet Cruelty Free Down Challenge

Marken beginnen mit strengeren Maßnahmen, um Tierschutzprobleme in der gesamten Daunenlieferkette auszuschließen... mehr

 

NorthFace news

North Face's Responsible Down Standard

Der Responsible Down Standard (von Textil Exchange zertifiziert) wurde von The North Face in Zusammenarbeit mit Textil Exchange und Control Union entwickelt... mehr